Contracting Nightmares

It is a common mistake to think that hiring contractors is a silver bullet.

No obligations, get experts and focus on core skills.

That’s why the service level in Cable companies is so great🙂

I have found that in 50% of the cases , hiring contractors in IT,Sales,Marketing , QA or development results in a complete failure.

Looking at the some of the characters who work as free-lancers, it is not surprising.

1. The not-so-competent

“It is not my fault I changed thirteen companies in ten years. I just made some bad career moves”.

“I like working on many projects at the same time. Just installed Exchange 5.5 for the local donut shop last quarter”

[picapp align=”none” wrap=”false” link=”term=goaly+fail&iid=9557644″ src=”http://view1.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/9557644/russian-football/russian-football.jpg?size=500&imageId=9557644″ width=”234″ height=”201″ /]

2. The lazy genius

“Making $200 per hour seems much nicer than coming to work every day”

“I got this stupid Japanese company to pay me $666  per hour. I can’t really commit to any deadline for you. At least not until they go bankrupt.”

3. The former executive

“In this stage of my life I want to work half a day per week for $2000. You should be thanking me every day”.

[picapp align=”none” wrap=”false” link=”term=lazy&iid=5066159″ src=”http://view4.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/5066159/businessman-alseep-meeting/businessman-alseep-meeting.jpg?size=500&imageId=5066159″ width=”380″ height=”254″ /]

4. The in-the-wrong-profession-guy

“I really want  to promote my band ,but got to make a living till than. Let me recompile the kernel for you.”

“I’m have founded five social network start-ups so far, but in the meantime I can help you guys with some JavaScript. Yes, I’m 19 years old.”

[picapp align=”none” wrap=”false” link=”term=sting&iid=9519161″ src=”http://view2.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/9519161/scorpions-and-cinderella/scorpions-and-cinderella.jpg?size=500&imageId=9519161″ width=”234″ height=”311″ /]

5. The Californian-work-life-balance-dude

“I don’t like to work. I like to enjoy life. Please send money to increase my bank balance”.

6. The open-source-Linux-purist

“I will not work with these evil DLL’s. Only tar.gz+RPM would stop world hunger and buffer overflows”

7. The incompetent-misunderstood-self-proclaimed-genius

“I have developed this amazing web site for selling dog food. It has no traffic yet, but I’m starting SEO soon.

[picapp align=”none” wrap=”false” link=”term=lazy&iid=5064274″ src=”http://view3.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/5064274/dog-laying-down/dog-laying-down.jpg?size=500&imageId=5064274″ width=”234″ height=”156″ /]

8. The ethically challenged

“I like free-lancing on top of my day job. What they don’t know can’t hurt them”

[picapp align=”none” wrap=”false” link=”term=criminal&iid=239368″ src=”http://view3.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/239368/thinkstock-single-image/thinkstock-single-image.jpg?size=500&imageId=239368″ width=”380″ height=”253″ /]

On the next post : “When contracting works well”.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Contracting Nightmares”

  1. ophirk Says:

    For a cute comics on problems of working from home see http://theoatmeal.com/comics/working_home

  2. Contracting Heaven « Evil Fish Says:

    […] Fish Thoughts on Software, Management & Business « Contracting Nightmares Marketing Wonders and IT in Saudi Arabia […]

Leave a Reply

