Working ,Networking and NonWorking – Part 2

In Part one I tried to explain how many “schmoozing” events can waste one’s time and push productivity down the drain.

In this post I’ll explain when networking is a valuable, productive and even a friendly habit.

People around me claim i’m usually over optimistic and tend to see the full half of the glass. Even when the world financial system collapsed, I thought it might bring a change and sanity to the bankers’ outrageous salaries.

Young Bankers ?

Young Bankers ?

I belive in helping other people. If you can aid another person  it gives a warm fuzzy feeling inside, and maybe this person would return a favor some time in the future. Recruiting is one clear example of both.

In our company we recruited at least 60% of the employees through friendly referrals from people that we already knew in the past.We were even able to recruit VP positions using LinkedIn. Since I have many friends who are managers with hard to fill  open positions and many acquaintances who are looking for a new job, it is a great joy to help both sides.

I don’t always like to assist friends to reformat the hard drive but it is really fun to help others to improve their resumes and market their capabilities.It is quite often that I get a friends’  CV and I try to return it to him with gentle improvement suggestions.

Another example is acquiring the first customers for a start-up. In the early stages , one has to rely on personal connections. Obviously, there is no product, no marketing and no sales people. The main available possible assets are friendship,trust and greed.

Trust

Trust

  • Friendship means – I’m helping you because I like you and I want to help you.
  • Trust means – I know you can build a great product that will help me even though you have nothing right now.
  • Greed means – I will help you only because I know you and I gnat to make sure it will help me in the future, or right now.
Friendship

Friendship

Many people think only of greed when they think of “Networking”, but in many cases I found that trust and friendship are the major motives for a building a great helpful network in business and life.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

